Arch Linux Installation

I installed and configured ThinLinc on Arco linux (Arch Linux) but I cannot get it to work from my Mac; I keep having the session shutting down as soon as I login; I tried everything and looking at the logs did not help I also went through the documentation but it did not help either… basicaly as soon as it connects and goes trough the process of finding a profile then it starts a session and closes right away. Has anyone run ThinLinc successfully on Arch Linux?
Thanks

Hello @erasmus, and welcome!

I have no experience myself from running ThinLinc on Arco Linux (or Arch for that matter).
Could you start by sharing your X session log with us? You’ll find it in

/var/opt/thinlinc/sessions/<USERNAME>/last/xinit.log

Kind regards,
Martin

Thank you for the quick response… I was finally able to solve the problem simply by going over the steps needed to run TigerVNC and what made the trick in my opinion is the following (taken straight from the steps to install TigerVPN server)

1. create the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-vnc.conf with the content below:
    Section “Module”
    Load “vnc”
    EndSection

Section “Screen”
Identifier “Screen0”
Option “UserPasswdVerifier” “VncAuth”
Option “PasswordFile” “/root/.vnc/passwd”
EndSection
2. run the command (you don’t really need the password but I kept it otherwise change the options in the previous step)
x0vncserver -rfbauth ~/.vnc/passwd

BTW why is the Mac client in French and there are no options in the interface or menu to change the language (it just happened that I speak French so it s not a problem for me)

Thank you again and best regards

Hello @erasmus

Those configurations you’ve made, and also x0vncserver, is not a part of ThinLinc at all, so there must be something else that you did to make ThinLinc work. Is it really ThinLinc server you are trying to use on your Linux server?

Regards,
Martin

Hi Martin,